Championship History of the Cleveland Browns

Avi Weisfogel, DDS, is the co-founder and owner of Dental Sleep Masters in South Orange, New Jersey. Beyond his activities as a business leader and dentist, Dr. Avi Weisfogel roots for the Cleveland Browns.

Despite having never won a Super Bowl under the National Football League’s (NFL) two-conference system, the Cleveland Browns stand as one of the most successful football franchises in American history. The team got its start during the 1946 All-America Football Conference (AAFC) season and went on to win the inaugural AAFC championship over the New York Yankees. In fact, the Browns won all four AAFC championships before the AAFC was absorbed by the NFL.

In 1950, Cleveland won its fifth consecutive championship, this time with a two-point, come-from-behind victory against the Los Angeles Rams. Between 1951 and 1953, the team would lose three consecutive NFL championships before winning again in 1954 and 1955. The Browns made additional championship appearances in 1957, 1964, and 1965, with the franchise’s eighth and final victory coming in 1964 with a 27-0 win over the Baltimore Colts.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s