An Overview of the Four New York Rangers Championships

Avi Weisfogel, owner of Dental Sleep Masters in South Orange, New Jersey, is an avid sports fan. Avi Weisfogel is especially interested in New York hockey and holds season tickets for the New York Rangers.

One of the oldest and most storied franchises in all of professional hockey, the New York Rangers played their first season in the National Hockey League (NHL) between 1926 and 1927. Quickly establishing a tradition of winning, the team reached the post-season 15 times over a period of 16 years. This extended run of success included six trips to the Stanley Cup Finals, with victories coming in 1928, the team’s second season, as well as 1933 and 1940.

After initial success, the Rangers struggled for several seasons starting in 1942. Over the course of 13 years, the team made only two post-season appearances, though the franchise did secure its seventh Stanley Cup appearance in 1950, losing to Detroit in a memorable double overtime game seven. The Rangers fared somewhat better between 1955 and 1966, reaching the semifinals four times. The Rangers truly returned to the post-season picture in 1967, however. The team enjoyed nine consecutive playoff appearances, with an eighth Stanley Cup Final coming in 1972. After a two-year hiatus, the Rangers established themselves as a playoff threat 18 times over the following 20 seasons.

In 1994, the Rangers made their 10th appearance in the Stanley Cup Finals, finally adding a fourth trophy at the expense of the Vancouver Canucks in front of a packed Madison Square Garden Crowd. It had been 54 years since their last Stanley Cup victory. The Rangers have yet to capture a fifth Stanley Cup, though the team has made the post-season nine times in the past decade, reaching the NHL finals as recently as 2014.